In Memory of Joey, Happy Birthday in Heaven

001 (1280x931)My first born son, Joey,  10/9/64-11/26/2002

Today, October 9, 2014 would have been the 50th birthday of my first born child, my son Joey.  I’m remembering him this day and how I wish we, his family,  could be celebrating this day with him. Sadly, we cannot, since he went home to be with the Lord 12 years ago when he could no longer handle the struggles of life.

Today is a bittersweet day for me, along with his brother and sister and nieces and everyone else who knew and loved Joey.  You are asking why I use the word ‘bittersweet’ I’m sure and there is a very good reason for that.   It is bitter (sad) of course because he is no longer with us and he is missed very much by all of us. However it is sweet because we know that at some point in his life, before he left us, Joey accepted the Lord Jesus Christ as his savior and asked him to come into his heart.   For those of us who are believers, we know that someday when the Lord calls us home with him, that we will once again be reunited with Joey.

Praising God that Joey is with Him in heaven, waiting for the day when the rest of us join him, all because God sacrificed His son on the cross to pay the price for all of our sins because He loved us so much.  We just need to invite Him into our hearts and our lives,   John 3:16 says it so clearly:  16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

There are many other verses in the Bible that also speak of salvation.  I won’t list all of them, of course, but a few that touch my heart are these:

John 5:24Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life.

Ephesians 2:8,9 –  8 For by grace are ye saved through faith, and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God, 9 Not of works, lest any man should boast.

John 20: 31 – But these are written, that ye might believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God; and that believing ye might have life through his name.

I am so thankful for the sacrifice that Jesus Christ made on our behalf, all so we could be with him in heaven one day just by accepting the free gift that God gives to all who believe and accept that gift.  I am so thankful to know that when I pass on some day that I will be with the Lord in heaven also.  I don’t have to wonder if I will be or hope that I will be.  With acceptance of the Lord as Savior, it is guaranteed!  How wonderful is that!

So, my dear son Joey, Happy Birthday in heaven on the 50th anniversary of your birth.  I love you and I miss you so much, but I know I will see you again one day.

22 thoughts on “In Memory of Joey, Happy Birthday in Heaven

  1. Happy Birthday to you Joey.

    I’m sure he is smiling and looking over you and the family each and every day. Memories are everlasting and we honor those we love who are no longer with us by remembering them. Thank you for sharing and I am truly sorry for your loss.

  2. Today would be a bittersweet day for you. I’m so glad to hear that your son was a Christian, Elaine, so your hope remains until that glorious day. Lord bless you today!! 😀

  3. My thoughts to you and your loved ones on this day, both somber and bittersweet. Memories to be treasured and cherished, I am sure. Peace.

  4. I miss my brother Joe too and admire your faith. It is a blessing to have faith to help us find peace and an element of joy in times of grief and sadness.

    Regards and good will blogging.

  5. I’m finally catching up on reading blog posts from the last couple of months. So lovely to read about Joey and his special place in your heart. I can’t imagine the pain you must have gone through to lose him – so great that I will get to meet him in heaven one day :).

  6. I’m sorry for your loss. I can’t imagine losing one of my children to death, it would be tragic. Thinking of how my grief would be, gives me a tiny glimpse into the grief of those who have lost children.

Leave a Reply

