Goodbye 2014, Hello 2015!

time-strugglingclipart courtesy of http://www.webweaver.nu/clipart/

The last day of 2014! My nephew asked a question of family and friends on FB this morning–What would you like to say to 2014 as it closes? Sadly, he said it had been a terrible year and he was hoping for a better 2015. I remember those days of negative thinking so well! They got me nowhere and seemed like self-fulfilling prophesies. Over the past year or so I have slowly been taking on a more positive attitude–key word being attitude! My response to him was the following: “Saying goodbye to it sadly, but looking forward to an even better year in 2015. It’s all in my attitude. It won’t be perfect but I refuse to get all stressed over the imperfections. Leaning on the Lord. He knows His plan for each of us. Jeremiah 29:11-13.” *
Right after seeing my nephew’s question, I noted that one of my nieces posted a little story about two dogs going into a mirrored room, one comes out with his tail wagging and obviously happy, while the other comes out growling. The difference being of course that each saw himself in the mirrors, one seeing a thousand happy dogs and one seeing a thousand angry dogs and reacted to them. Point being, what you see around you is a reflection of who you are!
My goal in 2015 is to always see myself as the woman God made and the woman He loves, therefore seeing the world in the same way. He made all of us in His image and He loves us all! Our bodies are His temple. He lives in us,so let’s make our goals reflect that temple. Just as we want our homes to look the best when we invite guests, so should we want our bodies to be a wonderful temple we want to invite the Holy Spirit to inhabit. That is what I am setting for my goals this year. Happy and healthy new year everyone! What are your goals for 2015?  Have you thought about them?
*Jeremiah 29:11-13New King James Version (NKJV)

11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. 12 Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. 13 And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.

11 thoughts on “Goodbye 2014, Hello 2015!

  1. Elaine, you are very right. Every year, every moment has its own trials and smiles. We should always try our best no matter how difficult it might be to focus on God because He is going to use the trials to perfect things in our lives. His plans are always on time. Happy new year once again 🙂

  2. Happy New Year, Elaine. It’s good to see you after all this time. You’ve written a beautiful message above. It is indeed a continuous readjustment for me to have that forever great attitude that came so naturally and I took it for granted for so many years. As I’ve gotten older, I must ask in prayer, for continued assistance in staying with the forever moving forward attitude. Some days, with Tom being so very ill, it’s difficult to believe all is well with my world. I needed to read your post today. Thank you.

    • Will be praying for you too Sheri. Attitude is definitely something we need to ask God for help with daily. I’m glad my post was a blessing to you. That makes my day! Hugs!

  3. I like the story of the two dogs Elaine. That is so true however I must admit that some years are bad and we wish for brighter days even when we make the most of the days in between the bad times.

  4. You are so right! The world around you is truly a reflection of who you are on the inside! It is all a matter of personal perspective and we all control that within ourselves 🙂 We have to work on ourselves first. Thank-you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

