Strength and Peace

 

Yesterday, I was reading in the Psalms–always a great place in the Bible to read- and I read among others, Psalm 29.  In my Bible above the verse God was called “The Lord of the Thunderstorm”.    I got to thinking about the thunderstorms in life that happen to us all and how God so graciously gives us strength to ride the storms and have peace at the end of each storm–the rainbow so to speak.

We all go through the storms of illness, loss of a job, loss of a loved one, financial storms and on and on but somehow we weather those storms all because of the Lord’s protection.

 
That thought process led me to start thinking about the current events going on in the world; the really BIG thunderstorms with the Middle East situations. in particular Syria right now.    I must admit a part of me is very frightened by the potential things that could happen in this situation.
 
 
I pray we are not being drawn into yet another war.  This crisis in Syria, in my humble opinion is a civil war between different sectors of people in Syria; two evils, (feel free to disagree with me if you wish)  There is the government under Assad who seems to think it is okay to kill off innocent people, including children, with horrible chemical weapons and then you have the rebels–apparently made up of terrorist organizations, all fighting for control.  It’s a family fight so to speak.  We don’t belong in the middle of it all!  I personally do not want to see one more of our brave men and women in the military get killed or badly hurt for someone else’s battle!
 
 
 
Psalm 29:11  gives me comfort in knowing that God has promised to always be with us, to protect his people.  As scary as all this may be,  He gives us strength to persevere and He will restore peace one day to His people.   In verse 10,   we are reminded that God is sovereign; He is in control; He is our King.
 
 
 
 
A favorite verse of mine that speaks of the strength that God gives us is Isaiah 40:31   But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.
 
 
 
To those of us who trust in Him, have faith in Him, He will give power and strength and we will be as strong as eagles.   However this whole scenario turns out, I have faith that God will give us the strength to get through it.
 
 
Lord, I pray your will be done, in your perfect timing of your perfect plan.
 
 
 
 
Isaiah_40-31

13 thoughts on “Strength and Peace

  1. Skye, I think that is great that your son chose that verse! It’s one of my favorites, right behind Phil 4:13 which is my life verse! He would love the gift my daughter-in-law drew for me a few years ago–it’s a nice drawing of the eagle and she had another lady at church who does great lettering, write out the verse on the drawing. It hangs in my living room, Will try to take a picture of it and send it to you later today! As for hugs—I will take them all–bug hugs and big hugs! lol I hate typing on my android phone too! Big Hugs to you too, and bug hugs too if you don’t scream and run away. *giggles*

  2. With one Marine grandson already to deploy to Bahrain and Kuwait and a second grandson soon to be a Marine I certainly do not want us in yet another conflict.

  3. This is a very beautiful post, and so encouraging. You are so right: our fears are very real. But, God is bigger than all that, and He really is in control. Our trust has to be in Him.

    Thank you for writing this post.

    And thank you so much for visiting my blog.

    May the Lord of peace bless you with His peace now and always.

    Cyber-hugs (because bug-hugs would probably make me scream and forget all thoughts of the peace of God. Sigh),

    GwennonR

Leave a comment