Be Still and Wait–Not Easy!

Image

The last several weeks, I have been frustrated because I wanted to be writing, lots of thoughts rolling about my mind, mixed with several Bible verses and quotes that just kept reappearing, most having to do with waiting!  Patience is another word that keeps coming across my path lately also, along with being still!  I am NOT a patient person always when it comes to waiting for some things!   Being able to express my thoughts in writing is one of those things I always want to be able to do right away and I get frustrated when the words won’t come. 

Psalm 27:14 shown above is one of the verses that I have been seeing turn up everywhere I look, along with Psalm 46:10a, Be still and know that I am God.   Twice in the last week or so, I also came across the following quote from Amy Carmichael that caused me to write in my journal “another reminder of Psalm 46:10?  of Psalm 27:14? She wrote:  To wait before the Lord, wait in the stillness.  And in that stillness, assurance will come to you.  You will know that you are heard; you will know that your Lord ponders the voice of your humble desires.”

Of course, it quickly became obvious to me that the Lord was telling me to stop talking and to be quiet and I would be able to hear the things He is trying to tell me, the words for me to write.  Wow, that is not easy for me to shut up and listen!  How would I hear Him speak to me?  I know I will not hear a voice speaking to me, of course.     Well obviously He speaks through His word.  When I am reading my Bible He is speaking. I just need to become more attuned to what is being said.  But He speaks through many other methods as well–the devotional books that I read, the blog posts that I spend a lot of time reading, sermons at church, and on and on.   If I am not “hearing” Him right away, the Lord has this way of sending the same message over and over again–hence running across the same verses, quotes, etc. multiple times! 

Honestly, I have to say that at first I didn’t hear –I was not understanding, but slowly it becomes more apparent to me.  What can I say?  I’m a slow starter!  🙂  I read a quote by D.L. Moody on a friend’s blog a couple of weeks ago — “If our circumstances find us in God, we shall find God in our circumstances.”   That makes sense to me!  The circumstance of wanting to learn what God has to say about different things on our minds should find us in the Word and in prayer to find the answers.  When we spend our time doing that, He will be there with us!  How wonderful that is! 

Many places in the Bible He promises that He will be with us always, He will supply our needs, He will give us strength.     in Philippians 4:19 it says “but my God shall supply all your needs according to his riches in Glory by Christ Jesus.”  In verse 1 of Psalm 46, it clearly says “God is our refuge and strength; a very present help in trouble.”    We just need to learn to Be Still and Wait on the Lord—Patience is a virtue! 

Thank you for taking the time to read my rambling Random Thoughts today!  I appreciate you all very much!  Have a lovely weekend and God bless you all.   🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Be Still and Wait–Not Easy!

  1. I cannot tell you how many times God just lays it on my heart, my mind, and my spirit to be still or hush it. This is a great reminder and love reading your random thoughts Miss Elaine!

Leave a Reply

