Sunny morning on the patio with God

patio2014patio2patiotable

Life begins each morning …

Each morning is the open door to a new world –

new vistas, new aims new tryings

author, Leigh Mitchell Hodges

Today, Friday, was a beautifully sunny, breezy and cool day here in Wisconsin. I spent an enjoyably lazy morning on my patio, spending time with the Lord, reading His word and in some devotionals, all the while enjoying a light breakfast  and my morning coffee.  I was also enjoying the fruits of yesterday’s labors — beautiful new flowers and herbs on my patio along with my table and some relaxing chairs (see pictures above).  I’m already for summer enjoyment and look forward to spending much time relaxing out there.

Psalm 59:16 But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning: for thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble.

Morning is such a wonderful time to spend in prayer and devotions.  There is something great about starting out the day with the Lord that just sets the tone for the rest of the day.  I admit I don’t do this every day, but I am working on doing a better job at putting Him first in my life and starting out each and every day with Him.

Song of Solomon 2:12 The flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing of birds is come, …

I love being surrounded by God’s beautiful creations even if it is just on my tiny patio.  The beauty of the flowers, the mixture of scents of blooming flowers, herbs like basil, lemon thyme (mmm!)and chocolate mint, (yes really!), and the sounds of the birds singing just brighten my day and put a smile on my face.  Praise God for all his creations!  If you zoom in on the photo below, you can get a better look at the chocolate mint. Any ideas on how I can use it as it grows?  I was intrigued by it but haven’t checked on its uses yet.   That should be fun!

patiochocmint

I’ve also placed a few flags in some of the pots in honor and remembrance of those who we remember on this Memorial Day weekend; those brave men and women who have fought for our freedom in many wars throughout the years (should I say centuries?) and have now gone on to eternity.  God bless each and every one of them.  May they rest in peace!

260637844_god_bless_them_all_xlargesource of picture unknown or I would give the proper credit.

This has been a rather rambling group of rambling thoughts.  Some days are like that, aren’t they?  Have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend friends and family, and thank God for all the beauty around us and for those who we remember who fought for the freedoms we have in this country.   Be safe!  Love to all!

7 thoughts on “Sunny morning on the patio with God

  1. Thank you! When I was growing up, Memorial Day was always celebrated by going to the parade. My grandfather and many uncles were veterans of WW1 and WW2 and were all active members of the VFW, along with their wives who were active in the auxiliary. Naturally, the importance of that day was in the forefront in our family, not just the beginning of summer. I am very proud of that heritage of those who fought for our freedom, going back to the Revolutionary War even.

  2. Your patio appears to face east same as mine. Sometimes, depending on the the time of year, it is hard to read when the glare of the sun comes up without a patio umbrella that angles. Right or wrong?.

    Regards and good will blogging..

    • It actually faces south so I get pretty constant sun and an almost constant breeze. The little shade that appears is because of the deck from the apartment above me. I don’t have trouble usually with reading from books or my Kindle but it’s very difficult reading from my tablet or my phone because of the glare. Wish I had an umbrella but not sure if a patio umbrella would be too big for the space.

      • Hmmm. I guess another remedy instead of an umbrella,, would be to go to bed early and wake up early and read in the morning.

        Regards and good will blogging.

      • Lol that might just work if I could drag myself out of bed early enough! Working on that one! I’ve gotten lazy since I retired unless I have to be somewhere. Lol. Have a blessed day!

  3. It is great fun sometimes to just relax and take in the joy of what a great Craftsman the Lord is! Thanks for your visit, following, and please return again when you can…

    Steve Pejay

Leave a Reply

