He is Risen!

Image

Clip art copyrighted by Bobbie Peachey,
http://webclipart.about.com

Matthew 28:6

King James Version (KJV)

He is not here: for he is risen, as he said. Come, see the place where the Lord lay.

As this week has progressed, the week so well-known as being Holy Week, so much has been written in many of the blogs, in the way of scripture lessons, beautiful poetry, devotions, etc.    All that I have read has been a blessing to me and some I have reblogged to share with others.   I’ve thought that I, also, should be writing something as well, but despite the myriad of thoughts and ideas that wandered through my head, I just felt I could not pin it down to a few meaningful words without being in danger of copying the words of others or making my words interesting enough to be a blessing to others.  As I went through my day, I kept it on my mind  and I prayed for the Lord to guide me on what to write or if I should not write anything at all.     I guess you probably figured out He did not like the second option of writing nothing!

I have thought over and over of what Christ suffered on Good Friday and why He would do that willingly, why God would give His only son up for us.   Would you agree that it is indeed mind-boggling to say the least?   I cannot speak for a father’s feelings, but as a Mom, I cannot even fathom giving up one of my children as a sacrifice.  I dare say most fathers would be feeling the same way.

Our answer is found throughout scripture, but most well-known to us all is John 3:16  For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.  He did this because He loves us so much!   John goes on to say in verses 17 and 18:

17 For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.  18 He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.

Because of the great sacrifice of the crucifixion of Christ, those who believe, who have asked Christ into our hearts, who pursue a relationship with him,  have been adopted into God’s family!   How wonderful is that?     A few days ago I was reading in Romans 8 and wrote another blog post about it.  I was led back to that passage again but different verses that specifically talk about the Father’s adoption of us.

14 For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God. 15 For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father. 16 The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: 17 And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together.

Wow!  What a blessing that is!  I cannot imagine why any of us would not want to accept that love, that gift, that blessing from God and have the knowledge that when our time on earth has been completed, we will live in eternity with God, with Jesus Christ!

Have you asked Jesus to come into your heart?  What better time than during the celebration of the greatest event in Christianity, the basis of Christianity, the Resurrection of our Savior?   I urge those who have not yet done so to pray the sinner’s prayer and settle the issue once and for all where you will go after you die.  I did and I can say I have never been happier!     Life is not perfect, but God never promised us it would be.  However, I know that He is with me always when I go through any trials and He provides what  I need in His perfect timing!

This is just a few simple words from my simple mind but I hope that even the simplest of thoughts can be a blessing to you.   Happy Resurrection Day to everyone!

 

16 thoughts on “He is Risen!

  1. Elaine, hope you don’t mind – thought I would nominate you for one of these awards called the Sunshine Award – sounds like a bit of fun – it helps to get more people reading your blog and celebrates the wonderful encouragement you bring to others through your writing. Don’t feel you have to participate, but if you are keen, follow the link and there are instructions in my blog post. :)http://humbleheartscribbles.wordpress.com/2014/04/21/sunshine-award-nomination/

    • Thank you Merryn! I don’t usually accept awards because I seem to never find the time to follow throu h but I certainly appreciate it. I responded more fully on your web page. 🙂

Leave a Reply

