Spring–a time of new beginnings, a time of healing

Image

Well here it is just two weeks following my knee replacement surgery and the beginning of the spring season.  What a change in two weeks time!  The weather perhaps not so much but by the end of the week it promises to be in the high 50’s and the bitter cold has departed. So far as my surgery–great  changes!   The first week was the most difficult, though not quite as bad as I expected.  A lot of that I believe is because God allowed all of my children and grandchildren to be with me through the first week home. What a blessing they all are!   This week several friends have been by for visits as well as family and a wonderful church family has been providing meals for me so I do not have to cook at all.  I am so appreciative of everyone’s kindness. 

Through the 2 weeks, my mobility has improved on a daily basis and the pain has subsided quite a lot.  Today, I had my first followup visit with the doctor, and he was pleased with my progress.  As I titled this piece–it’s a time of new beginnings and a time of healing,  The surgery is healing quickly and I am already walking better than I have in a long time!  What a great feeling to be able to completely straighten out my leg.  Within days I will be graduating from my walker to my cane and within a very few short weeks, no walking aids whatsoever!  

A new beginning with the new season!  It won’t be long before I will be able to get out and walk around the local park and get much more exercise than I have gotten in a long time!   Praise the Lord for the things He is doing in my life!  

To everyone who has been keeping me in their prayers and thoughts, I thank you so much.  You are all a blessing to me.  It’s amazing that there have been blogging friends on several continents who have been praying for me, as well as family and personal friends, church family.  I can’t even begin to express how fortunate I feel to be surrounded with such love and caring. 

Life is truly good!   Thank you Lord Jesus.  

31 thoughts on “Spring–a time of new beginnings, a time of healing

  1. I am glad that you are doing so well, By the way, people are praying for you, because you are such a very nice person, and God doesn’t let you go without people praying for your recovery. I am very thankful that I receive your posts; they are an extension of your mind. Thank you for being you.
    Senior Pastor/Equipping The Saints
    Philip 3:10, “That I May Know Him”
    http://gravatar.com/cchurchchurchblog
    http://cchurchchurchblog.wordpress.com/

  2. I would like to say I love your blog and the wonderful and beautiful things you share as well as the inspiration and smiles you bring in doing so! Thank you for being you and I hope even if you do not accept awards you will accept the sentiment expressed as I honor you with one. There is no prize that comes with the award other than my appreciation and being grateful you are part of our world and making a difference by sharing in such a positive way…
    I have posted the award and link to it here I hope you will accept it or at least the sentiment behind it! http://artisticlyxpressedthoughts.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/awards-and-shared-gifts/

    With love,
    Joe

    • Joe, Thank you so much for the award you honor me with! I appreciate your kindness and the time you took to express your sentiments! Thank you so much for following my blog and for the wonderful blog posts you share with all of us! you are a blessing my friend!

    • Yes God truly IS good! I look forward to you getting here soon too! How nice it will
      be indeed. My door is always open to you Skye. Love you too!

  3. Elaine, I know a woman in her seventies who had the same surgery last year. I saw he last week after last seeing her six months ago. She was getting over the operation and still in pain and discomfort. She is in great spirits now because all the pain is gone and she is walking around like a trooper now.
    Regards and good will blogging.

  4. Isn’t it fitting that spring is a time for new beginnings and now with your surgery behind you, and the outlook for you to be pain feel, and more mobile, that this is a new beginning for you.

Leave a Reply

