Apprehension and Anticipation or just plain scared and nervous?

th_Isaiah4110

 

Well I would just have to say I am feeling each one of those emotions and probably more right now as the day is coming fast (Thursday March 13) when I have knee replacement surgery.   Fear of the pain after surgery as I heal and go through the rehab at the same time.  Am I strong enough to handle it all?   What will it be like as I recover? Will everything go well?  Will I really be able to walk with less pain again?

Thankfully I can lean on the word of my heavenly Father!  As he says in the following verse, He will be with me, help me through it and strengthen me as I face this trial and any others in my life.   He IS the Great Physician.  He will be there in the surgical suite, guiding the hands of the doctors and giving them the wisdom to make the right decisions in surgery.  He will be with me through my entire recovery, nudging me along to do my best and push past the pain to have successful rehabilitation. He will guide me through it all. This verse from Isaiah was posted this morning as a verse of the day on another blog  http://togodbetheglorybettysverseoftheday.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/meditationbettys-verse-of-the-day3-10-14/ and as I reads it the words finally began to take hold of what I wanted to write in this post and the verses I wanted to share with you.  The timing of her post this morning was perfectly orchestrated by God!

Isaiah 41:10 (KJV)

10 Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

All of my thoughts and anticipations are not fearful at all, but, in fact, they cause me to rejoice in the fact that finally I am going to be able to do things like take long walks, exercise more, and do many activities that I have had to curtail because the pain I have now will not be there.  I will have a knee-joint that will work properly rather than bone rubbing on bone!  Hooray!  For that reason I am excited to be having this surgery done quickly so I can be on the road to recovery.

There are two other verses, among so many, that I also found that give me comfort and give me confidence that all will be well.

Deuteronomy 31:6 Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”   

and Zephaniah 3:17 The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.

These are promises from God that we can all count on!   He will not forsake us, He will rejoice and sing when we get through our trial successfully.  We just need to ask Him and keep looking to Him for our comfort.

Friends, I will be in the hospital for a few days and doubtful I will be writing any blogs but I will try to post updates when I can.  Can’t send a blogger to the hospital without a computer after all!   So glad hospitals understand these things and offer WiFi for patient use!   LOL

I ask you to keep me in your thoughts and prayers and will talk to you soon!   Have a wonderful week, filled with the Lord’s blessings!

 

36 thoughts on “Apprehension and Anticipation or just plain scared and nervous?

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement Teddy! I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment on my post. Enjoyed talking with you on your blog a few days ago, so I smiled when I saw you read my post. Have a wonderful evening and great day tomorrow. Hope you are finally getting good signs of spring like we are here in Wisconsin. 🙂

  1. O great Physician, with all the powers for which You are known to be God, arise and show Your presence during the surgery and recovery process of Your daughter Elaine in the name of Jesus Christ. You are not alone Elaine. The Lord is with you and I am really happy that you know this but still that will not stop us from praying. I am praying for you. It will be well.

Leave a Reply

