When life gives you scraps…..

Image

 just make quilts!  or another version of the quote is when life gives you lemons, make lemonade!  I’m sure we all could come up with a lot of similar positive quotes to encourage someone when life brings its trials and tribulations.   Because I like quilting, I have, of course, managed to collect a lot of scraps from previous quilts and small and large pieces of fabric that I’ve collected through fabric swaps years ago and fabric that has caught my eye that “I might use it someday” and so my mind always thinks of making quilts out of the scraps of life that come my way.

Now thinking about making them and actually making them, or finishing them is another whole story.  So, just as I have collected fabric scraps, I have collected many UFO’s (UnFinished Objects) in various stages of construction.   The picture above was one of those UFO’s until tonight when I finally finished it!  Yay!!!

As I finished sewing the binding on the quilt this evening, I got to thinking about how the unfinished projects in our lives can relate to the unfinished business in our lives –those trials and tribulations that happen to everyone.   How do we deal with them?  Or an even more obvious question perhaps, DO we deal with them or do we set them aside like the fabric scraps and the unfinished objects and tell ourselves we will deal with those things at a later date?

Some trials are not so bad and we can usually manage to resolve them easily; but what about the more difficult ones?  I don’t believe I am alone when I say that I am one of those people who will often set those problems aside to deal with later. How easy it is to tell myself that I just don’t have the desire, the time, the energy to deal with that now.  Not a good idea!  The longer we put off dealing with problems, the more they can grow into other problems in our lives.  The issues keep adding up and eventually we can find ourselves in a lot of distress–depression probably, or even physical ailments caused by stress.  I know this has been true throughout my life.   Just as I accumulated UFOs and just gave up on trying to complete the projects,  I allowed my trials and tribulations to accumulate also and “gave up”, so to speak,   for a while.

So what to do to change that habit, to deal with the things that trouble me?  Take them to God in prayer.  Stop ignoring Him or thinking He was ignoring me and didn’t care.  There are many verses in the Bible that remind us  that He does care and He wants to help us to deal with things.     One of them I found when I got into His word is:  Philippians 4:6-7 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, shall guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

He wants us to ask Him, to come to Him with our problems.  He wants to help us pick up the pieces of our lives.  When I finally began to get closer to Him, spending more time in His word, in prayer, in closer fellowship with Him, changes began to happen.   I was better able to deal with those problems I had hidden away, some of which were not as much of an issue that I told myself they were.   I stopped giving up.   I look at the quilt I finished tonight and a couple of other small projects that I finished in the past couple of days as a message to myself that yes I CAN deal with the things I stored away and that I have dealt with many and begun to deal with others.   Praise the Lord, I have my life back!

One of my granddaughters suggested a while ago that it might be fun for me to share some of the quilts I have made on my blog, so you just may see some more pictures shared soon.  There is another little mini-quilt that I will share that I was reminded of as I wrote this post tonight.   “Picking up the Pieces”     I made 4 of these little quilts for me and my 3 sisters several years ago because it reminded me something my sisters tease me about from our childhood–how I would try to convince them to let me slack off on doing dishes if I had something better to do.

dishesquiltI’ll wash, you dry and little sister can pick up the pieces.

 

16 thoughts on “When life gives you scraps…..

    • Thank you Julie! I appreciate your comments and taking the time to read my blog today! More pictures will come soon, perhaps I will just do a photo album of some of them.

  1. Elaine, thanks for stopping by at my blog and for liking one of my posts ”choose who will make your world beautiful” which now link me to your awesome blog. I do hope your visit to my blog was ok. I hope to read more of your post. May the good Lord continue to bless you more and more in the name of Jesus Christ.

    • Thank you as well for visiting my blog! I appreciate it very much. I do plan to visit your blog some more and look forward to it very much. God’s blessings to you too!

  2. You are very kind for your like of my 022114 post. You are a special saint of God; you bless many people with your blog posts, many of whom you will never know, until Glory. Many blessings to you.
    Pastor/Equipping The Saints
    Phil 3:10, “That I might know Him”

    • Thank you for your sweet words! What a great blessing they are. I hope my simple words do bless people along the way just as yours and others’ do. That is my greatest desire from my blogging –that it softens someone’s heart and brings them to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. What a great thing that would be for any of us as we spread His word. 🙂

      • My Sister, Please rest assured that your thoughts and words of comfort find their way into the hearts and minds of people who need such in their lives. God knows what He’s doing through you. You are truly a blessing of our Lord and Savior Jesus.

  3. Thank you so much! You do have magic hands…yours hold a pen and give a lot of pleasure to a lot of readers and do a lot of other wonderful things. The Lord gives us all different things, talents if you will, to bring joy not only to ourselves but, more importantly, to others. Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

