God doesn’t LOVE us like we are a medium rare steak!

Image

Don’t love me the same as you love this steak, please!  🙂

How often do we hear someone say I love this person or that person but in the next breath practically they are saying they “love” their favorite food, flower or other inanimate object. I catch myself doing that all the time!  I love that steak or lobster or pasta.  I love to quilt.  I love to read. I love a certain car, movie,  and any other number of things.  Don’t we really mean we “like” those objects?  Like them a lot perhaps, but love them like we love a fellow human being?  I hardly think so! I hope not anyway!  I could never understand being compared to a food item, or a sporting event and so many other things that we say we love!  

I just read a piece posted by a fellow blogger that got me to thinking about this subject—the overuse of the word Love.    I encourage you to read his post  http://lifereference.wordpress.com/2014/02/08/more-love/ and others he has written.  

In this post he refers to 1 John 4:11-12  11 Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. 12 No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us. NIV

The writer explains so much better than I can what John is teaching us in this passage–the proof that God’s love is at work and is very real, very observable:  “Love for one another as Jesus has loved us and gave His life for us.”

Just  a simple little post from me but one that I hope to take more seriously as I use the words ‘love’ and ‘like’ in my communications.   I hope to make a concerted effort to “like” those inanimate objects and ideas that bring pleasure to my life, and “LOVE” my Lord and Savior, LOVE my fellow human beings that He brings across my path, family, friends,even strangers.

I would love to hear your thoughts on this!   Thanks for taking the time to read my blog today!  I am blessed by you!

11 thoughts on “God doesn’t LOVE us like we are a medium rare steak!

  1. Oh,, I love his blog so much. I get so much out of every post.

    My pastor spoke on this subject awhile back; I was never the same again with regard to flippantly “loving” this and that. You know when you hear something like this and your heart is forever pricked and convicted by it? I can love cheesecake…..But I adore the Lord, and He has my worship and my heart.

Leave a Reply

