What can I possibly have to complain about?

John 9:1-3(NIV)

1 As he went along, he saw a man blind from birth. His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him.

Last night I wrote a piece about the jumble of thoughts of different things I wanted to write about and how I just cannot seem to make enough sense out of any of them to be worthy of a blog post.   I was and am getting impatient with myself  because of it.

One of the things I have thought about for a long long time it seems is the trials we each go through in this life and our reactions to those trials.  Of course, I cannot speak for how others react or feel, but I suspect that I am not much different from a lot of people in my reactions at times.  It seems so much easier to whine and complain about these trials, whether it be health issues, financial issues, relationship issues and on and on; and to just plain feel sorry for myself.  If I am not careful in being aware of what I am feeling, I know I can easily fall into the trap  of  “poor, poor pitiful me” .  Remember that silly little song we sang as children?   Nobody loves me, everybody hates me, I guess I’ll go eat worms!”  Yuck!  I do not want to feel that way!  But I wonder why God makes us suffer.  What did I do or what did another person do that makes God give any of us these burdens to bear?

Well wouldn’t you just know that God heard my prayers and my questions about why I could not organize my thoughts!  He is such a wonderful Father!   This morning while I had my breakfast and was enjoying a lovely cup of coffee, I was reading through some of the blog posts here on WordPress as is my habit in the morning.  As always, I was pleased to see a post from my very dear friend Skye!

http://ohthethingsweshallsee.com/2014/02/04/popping-bubbles-with-god/

I just love the title of her post–Popping Bubbles with God.   🙂   I knew immediately this was going to be good!  She talked about being able to feel good and worship God and be thankful to Him when we are in circumstances that enhance that–sitting in a church pew or seeing all the beauty he gives us such as a beautiful sunrise.  However we find the total opposite feelings when we are doing chores, etc.  I know I am simplifying what she said and paraphrasing a lot!  Sorry Skye!  You say it so much better.  🙂

Her post got my attention and got my thoughts going and the following paragraph is my comment to her on her blog

“I can so relate to what you are saying–How easy to praise God when we are seeing a beautiful sunrise or any number of other beautiful things he sends our way. And how many of us feel like praising Him when we are doing the mundane chores of our lives. Of course we should still be praising Him for the things He has provided for us and our abilities to be able to complete those everyday mundane chores. We are truly blessed–there are so many who are physically unable, for many reasons, to be able to do those chores. There are many who would be so grateful if they could even do the simple things like dressing themselves, walking, hugging a child, etc. Your post this morning has prompted a new post for me that has been on my mind for a long time. My comment to you on this post will definitely be a part of my post and this post of yours will be referred to since you inspired me to organize my thoughts about it so I could finally write it, Thanks friend! love you!”

I have thought for a long time about how I can find it easy to complain about the aches and pains I have, in particular with the progression of the osteoarthritis in my knee that prevents me from doing a lot of walking, standing on my feet for very long, etc. to the point where it is finally time for knee replacement surgery.   I used to always wonder why me and start to feel sorry for myself.  In reality, I am blessed that I only have the pain that I have and that it is something that can be fixed!

God has been getting my attention in many ways and showing me how fortunate I actually am!  There are so many who would love to be in my shoes.    As I have gotten involved in blogging, I have learned about many people who absolutely amaze me with their positive attitudes despite what most of us would call terrible and awful disabilities.  Instead they are glorifying God with what they are able to do despite their physical condition. They are sharing their deep faith with others and bringing them to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ.    I have read and follow blogs of people who have paralyzing diseases like ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease) and other equally disabling conditions that prevent them from being able to do the simplest things in life that we take for granted.  Yet they are happy!  and they are spreading that happiness and positive thinking around to everyone!  Where do they get it from?  Their faith in and love for God!

There is a very well-known evangelist and motivational speaker who I admire very much and I follow him on his website and on Facebook by the  name of Nick Vujicic  http://www.lifewithoutlimbs.org   I just watch a video of him for two minutes and wonder how I could ever worry about a little knee pain or any other ache or pain.  This young man was born without arms or legs but yet he has the most positive attitude, and does the most amazing things like swimming! golf! writing! and on and on.  He is married and the father of a beautiful little boy  and he travels all over the world sharing his faith with people and giving them hope with faith in the Lord.  As I was writing this post I looked to see what Bible verse inspires him and found the one I started this post with.   In an article I found, http://au.christiantoday.com/article/nick-vujicic-man-without-limbs-shares-the-bible-verse-that-gave-him-purpose/14003.htm  he explains about this verse.
The Life Without Limbs author described his feelings after reading these verses. “I got goosebumps on my skin I don’t even have,” he told the congregants. “And I had faith because I understood something. You see, all I wanted to know was that God knew what He was doing with me.”

With an attitude like his and like so many others in this world, how can I complain about a sore knee or back.  Stories like Nick’s and others who I have read on the blogs and heard about through other sources have convicted me that I am blessed!  God has made my life so easy in comparison.  I ask myself, what else should I be doing to help others?

6 thoughts on “What can I possibly have to complain about?

  1. Thank you for your kind words and link to my story, Elaine. I think that God gives us exactly what we need when He sees fit so that we may realize what our spirit is revealing. If your spirit is grumbly, or you are stuck in stinkin’ thinkin’, He will not allow you to stay there long if you are walking closely with Him. I am glad He is revealing to you that there are so many in the world that are so much worse off than you, and that He is doing it gently. It always amazes me when I see someone who is physically challenged, yet they are conquering all that God has set out for them to do. Humbling..for sure.

    We are wise when we reach out to help others when we feel badly about our own lives, there is so much benefit in it…..but, that is one of my future blog posts, so I will not bore you here. Love sent to you…..Skye

  2. Skye, you can never be boring! lol But I will be patient and wait for your future blog post to see what you have to say. I do agree with you though. Thank you for taking the time to read my post and comment on it. Your opinions mean a lot to me, my friend. I feel the same way about how humbling it can be to see what people accomplish. I am constantly amazed but as it says so well in the Bible, With God All Things Are Possible! Have a great weekend Skye! Hugs!!!! love you

  3. Your writing is outstanding… and your subject more so… yes Skye is a very special person that makes us all think with her posts… but I can see your posts will make me think as well… God Bless you…

    • Thank you so much for your compliment Bulldog! You certainly made my day! God bless you as well. 🙂

      Skye has had a good deal of influence on my writing, including that I even blog at all. She is my encourager in so many things. a truly good friend!

Leave a Reply

