Life begins each morning…

Image

Life begins each morning….Each morning is the open door to a new world-new vistas, new aims, new tryings.  Leigh Mitchell Hodges

While writing in my journal this morning during my devotions I once again noticed a quote at the bottom of one of the pages I was writing on, the above quote beginning Life begins each morning..  Though I was writing about something very different, making notes for a couple of future blog posts, this quote caught my attention and I just felt I needed to share it. 

I don’t know about you, but quite often I awake in the morning thinking that it is “just another day”, nothing particularly spectacular or meaningful will happen in my day–just another humdrum day.   Somehow if I mistakenly start out with that thought, I can say it will probably be the case of how my day goes. 

The better way to start my day and something I did this morning after noticing this quote, is to decide that today I will take that to the Lord and pray for his guidance today and every day to open my eyes to the new things he will teach me today, to reach out for new things or to make goals for my day and do my very best to meet those goals.  I have to be careful there because I know I have the habit of setting too many goals of things I wish to accomplish that do not get completed because of other things that may come up or because I have under-estimated the time each goal will take to complete.  And if I am to be honest, quite often it is procrastination that gets in the way of completing my goals for the day. That is when I set myself up for failure!  Am I the only one who does that?

In Psalm 32:8 God says I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye.    Today I will keep that close to me and lean on God to guide me through my day so that I may accomplish what He wishes to do today, let Him guide me in setting my priorities for the day.  One day at a time – Tomorrow I will do my best to follow the same plan of letting the Lord guide my day as another new day begins.  

This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it!  Psalm 118:24

 

10 thoughts on “Life begins each morning…

  1. Ohhh…how can any day be humdrum when we are searching for God in even the smallest things life a flower’s bloom or a friend’s voice. I am glad that you see that there is joy to be found in each day as long as we are seeking Him first and foremost. It is a crazy, wonderful life when we find Him in every provision and every moment. Great post!!

  2. Yes I do and yes they do seem to be behind you. PTL! Had the first injection today. Didn’t feel a thing. My doctor is amazing! no physical therapy. Does not think it will help and he wants me to start thinking seriously about knee replacement surgery. The injections will probably give some very temporary relief to the pain but he is not really optimistic for the long term with them.

Leave a Reply

