I’ve Decided–today I will smile!

The above quote has a great deal of meaning to me because a dear friend sent it to me about a year ago, hoping to  cheer me up, make me smile again, and wipe away my tears.  I saved it and, in fact, printed it out and had it on my bulletin board for a while as a reminder to never let my smile get away from me because of the actions or words of someone else.  I’ve never forgotten it and recently I came across it again while going through some desk drawers.   It has been constantly on my mind since I rediscovered it and it has haunted me.   Why?  I’m sure sometimes that I know why.  Other times I am not so sure.

When my friend sent it to me, it did have the affect he had hoped for.  It did make me smile and obviously since I have never forgotten it, it has continued to do what it was meant to do.   When I find myself downhearted, unhappy, sure that I’m not good enough because things are not going exactly the way I want them to or relationships with others are not what I think they should be,  I think about this quote and it pushes me back into “real thinking”!

My life is not perfect nor is anyone else’s life perfect.  However I can choose to make my life a negative experience or a positive experience.  If I think in negative terms, my life will be exactly that–filled with negative experiences.  I know people who seem to begin each day with comments like “Today is just going to be another bad or miserable or awful (you fill in the blank) day.   At the end of the day those very people wonder why everything seemed to go wrong with their day.   I believe they call it a self-fulfilled prophesy, don’t they?

Now if I decide each day is a new beginning and that my day will be a good one, despite what transpires, at the end of the day I will be feeling a lot more positive and able to smile and tell myself that even if the day was not perfect, it was still good.  My day was not a failure because the only failure is in not doing anything.  Starting my day with a positive thought of its outcome keeps me from giving up and doing nothing.  It keeps me motivated to do my very best or certainly pushes me in the right direction.

Of course I have to be realistic about it.  There may be someone or more than one someone who will say or do something that disappoints me or makes me feel bad, unloved, unwanted.  Should I let that totally ruin my day because they think differently of me than I would want them to?  It’s very hard not to react in that way but think about it.  Who of us always likes everyone, can give everyone what they need or want in this life?  None of us!  So why should I feel like it is the end of my world when someone does not give me what I wish or does not feel the way I would want them to?  Is it the most awful thing that could happen to me?  Unfortunate perhaps, but definitely not awful; not even close to awful!  It’s all in how I choose to react to any given circumstance.  I have decided to do my best to react in a positive way and to keep my smile.

To my friend who helped me see the light and encouraged me to keep my smile, I thank you!  I appreciate you!

11 thoughts on “I’ve Decided–today I will smile!

  1. This is beautiful 🙂 As I read it, I was reminded of this scripture -I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation- Philippians 4:12 The joy of the Lord is our strength 🙂

  2. Thank you Julie! Amazing that you chose that particular scripture! my life verse is the very next one that follows it Philippians 4:13, I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. Our strength truly is the joy of the Lord!

  3. “Smiling. That’s my favorite.” ((Quote from Elf…one of my favorite holiday movies.)) 🙂 Smiling is definitely one of my favorites. People will hurt you and disappoint you; you will hurt and disappoint people. It is all part of our fallen world. The best thing to do is to bring those hurts immediately to the Lord. He truly does direct our paths even when we need to figure out how to handle our hurts. A lovely post, Elaine. Thank you. {{Smiley Face Hugs}}

  4. Thank you Skye! glad you liked it, Smiles are my favorite too, 🙂 You are so right that the best thing is to bring our hurts immediately to the Lord. That would have been a nice comment to add to my post but since I didn’t say it I am so happy that you did! love your smiley face hugs! lol. Right back atcha!

  5. Gosh, I’m new to blogging and just discovered your blog. I read your “About” page and this post and I like you already. It’s nice to meet you here in cyberspace.

  6. Well thank you for saying that and for visiting my blog! Welcome to the world of blogging J! What a blessing it is to meet you as well! I was just checking out your blog when I saw you had “liked” my post and had to giggle at the balance ball story! lol Hope it has gotten easier for you!

  7. Oh dear Elaine so lovely to post this, it is wonderful dear thank you for sharing it 🙂

    Happy New Year !!!!!!! and best wishes for you in 2014 🙂

Leave a Reply

