Resolution? Revolution? or Both?

ImageIt seems like many times lately I have run across people misusing the term New Year’s resolutions and referring to it as Revolutions.   It is usually said in jest of course and it has been used in a recent tv commercial with a child innocently misusing the term.   But hearing those two words has gotten me to thinking about them.   Are we making resolutions-resolving to make changes in our lives this year with the hopes of positive outcomes?  Or–are we starting a revolution-revolting against the things we don’t currently like in our lives and wanting to change them?

Resolutions are always joked about as being those things we decide upon on New Year’s day and before Valentine’s day they have been long forgotten, put away for another time, looked upon as a failure perhaps.  We start out with good thoughts and are so sure in our minds that this is the year that we will keep those resolutions!  No more failures for us!  Oh if only that were true for most of us.   I suppose there are some who make resolutions and do stick to them.  Not sure I have ever met anyone who has, but I would love to meet them and find out how they did it!  Sort of sounds like a miracle to me!   🙂

Now revolutions are another whole thing! or are they?   We are revolting or starting a war against those things in our lives that we don’t like–maybe it’s our weight, our health or our finances, or that we spend less time than we should in God’s Word, searching for his guidance in our lives.  The list is endless and different for all of us perhaps.

Which is better?   Are they the same?   Should we revolt against making resolutions and start a revolution within ourselves against those things we dislike about us?   Something worth thinking about I believe.

Would love to hear your thoughts about it!  Are you resolving or revolting or both or perhaps neither of these things?   Please  feel free to share.  I don’t think there is a wrong answer, but just a different answer for each of us.   I wish you the happiest of new years with all the blessings of our Lord Jesus filling your lives.

Romans 15:13 (ESV)

13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

11 thoughts on “Resolution? Revolution? or Both?

  1. Thanks for reading and commenting Jennifer and for the link to the other post. I did enjoy reading it very much! Happy and blessed New Year to you and your family also! I’m excited to see what this new year brings!

    • Thank you Sheri for visiting and responding! You have been on my mind the last few days. Hope all is well and wish you and your hubby a wonderful new year filled with blessings!

  2. I have decided to resolve to not make a years resolution, but to on a daily basis to be the best person I can be, does that mean trying to eat an even more healthy diet, sure it does, maybe try to get back into a regular type of exercise, sure. But I think the most important thing is in trying to be the best person I can be, I have always tried to be there for family and friends, and I think for the most part I am. But I also know that there is always room for improvement in any one’s life. So when the day comes for me and I have to be judged for my life, I will know that not only will the Lord be happy with me, but I will know that Joe will be proud of the person, who for a long time after his death, didn’t think she was going to make it,
    will be proud of the person he had to leave behind.

Leave a Reply

