Let me tell you about my blessings….

Image

1 Corinthians 13:13

English Standard Version (ESV)

13 So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

How often do we wake first thing in the morning and immediately have a thought of one of the many blessings God has given us in our lives?  If you are like me, one of the very first things you think of in the morning is “I need coffee!” and you rush to the kitchen to start the process of making that pot.  After all, first things first!  A day that doesn’t begin with a good cup of coffee and  breakfast is not a good day at all!   Right??   Well after my experience on Wednesday morning when I awoke, I cannot necessarily say that I need coffee is always my first thought, not should it be for that matter!

When I woke up on Wednesday, my first thought was how blessed I am to have the wonderful family God has provided me with!  I had a deep  sense of love and feelings of well -being!  Don’t get me wrong–I always know I am blessed to be a Mom, Grandma, sister, friend.  God has been very good to me by putting all sorts of wonderful people in my life.  This particular day, though, I just felt particularly blessed and filled with joy and that wonderful sense that all was well with my world.

What was so different about Wednesday from other days?  I can’t be exactly sure; however, over the past  few days I have had the pleasure of being able to have longer than normal conversations with my children, Dave and Debbie, and one of my granddaughters.  I have spent a lot of time with my daughter-in-law Terry and even got to have a conversation with my son-in-law Stephen.  I don’t often have that opportunity because he and Deb do not live nearby.    My other granddaughter is really busy with school and work. etc. but since she is a blogger, I have the pleasure of reading her many gems of wisdom that she writes as well as the occasional visit.   She has taught her old Grandma many wonderful things, as do the others.  All of those things together seemed to bring them even closer to my thoughts and my heart so it is not a mystery I guess that my first thought of the day was of all of them.

The Lord has truly blessed me.  My children have grown up to be marvelously wonderful adults, filled with love and caring for others and they each have brought their wonderful spouses into our family and two beautiful granddaughters to whom they have passed on those same wonderful values of being very loving and caring adults!   Every one of them is fun to be with and they make me smile a lot!  I am so proud to be Mom and Grandma to all of them.  Thank you Lord for your abundance of blessings, not only at this Christmas season but each and every day of my life.

Dave, Terry, Marianne, Debbie, Stephen and Annmarie–I love you all and wish you the merriest of Christmases and a year filled with all the blessings of our Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.   Merry Christmas!

 

One thought on “Let me tell you about my blessings….

Leave a Reply

