Christmas Is Love

Image

Isaiah 9:6 (King James Version)

For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

Last evening I was taking a few pictures of my two Christmas trees and my eyes were drawn to one of my favorite ornaments, Christmas is Love.   I began to think about those words and what they mean to me and so many memories crossed my mind. 

I have memories of Christmases growing up with my siblings and Mom and Dad. They were always such fun.  I still can’t decide who was more excited about Christmas—all of us kids or was it Mom and Dad?  They had such fun watching us open our gifts at some ridiculously early hour in the morning and never complained about being up so early!

And, of course, there are the memories of Christmas with my own three children. Watching the look in their eyes as the decorations and tree were put up and going for a drive to see others’ Christmas lights.  Their eyes would light up as bright as the tree lights when they awoke on Christmas morning and dove into their stockings and then the gifts, followed by a special breakfast and then visits with grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins.  

So, yes, Christmas love is family love.  It is love between friends.  But the most important Love of all is the reason for the season, the birth of the Lord Jesus Christ, sent by his father to show us how much He loves us.   He sent His son to become one of us and to take on the burden of all of our sins, as he died on the cross to set us free and give us the gift of eternity with Him in heaven. That is a very special kind of love, unconditional and nothing we can ever get anywhere else.  There is nothing we can do to earn it and we certainly do not deserve it.  It is a freely given gift if we just ask for it.   How wonderful a gift!  Why would we not want it for ourselves and for everyone we love?  

Through this Christmas season remember to thank God every day for this wonderfully generous gift he has given us.  Christmas truly is L-O-V-E!

Image

Yes I have more than one tree!

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas Is Love

  1. Oh! I used that scripture verse today, too. It is one of my favorites. It is so true. We need to share the love of Jesus with all He puts in our path so that they may experience His great love, as well. Christmas is the love of the Father sent down through His Son. How marvelous!!

    I pray your season is filled with much love, Elaine.

  2. Thank you Skye! Wow! We think alike. I honestly didn’t copy your choice of a Bible verse! My wish for you and your family also is that every day is filled with lots of love! Thank you for reading and commenting on my post today. What a blessing!

Leave a Reply

