Praise and Thanksgiving

This verse appeared in a Thanksgiving email request for prayers for church family and extended family and my first thought as i read it was that feels like a blog post formulating in my mind!  So yes, I am stepping away from my usual role of procrastinator and writing what i am feeling while the thoughts are fresh.

I will indeed praise and thank Him forever for the way He loves all of us and watches over us.  How lovely it is to have a heavenly Father who is always there even when we think he isn’t!

Just as recently as last evening, I felt his presence as I spoke a few words in church, thanking God for the ways He has worked in my life.  (I have those words ready to post for Thanksgiving Day so you will be able to read them as well.)  I feel His presence even at this moment as I spoke with my daughter who is having surgery this afternoon.  I know He will be watching over her and giving the surgeons the wisdom to know exactly what she needs to make her feel better.  I feel his presence in every part of my life as he continues to bless my life with new blessings daily, placing people in my life who are good Christians and a blessing to me.  I know he is also watching over a friend who is  traveling halfway around the world to take care of some personal business matters.  He will orchestrate every part of that for the best outcome and I praise Him for it.

https://i1.wp.com/www.everydayawe.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/psalm-52.jpg

As the previous verse, Psalm 52:8 says, I will always trust in His unfailing love for me; for all of us.  What a wonderful Father and a Wonderful God we serve!  He knows the plans he has for us and His timing is so perfect.  Patience! That’s the hard part for me and, I dare say, for most, if not all, of us.  I tend to get impatient when things don’t work the way I want them to and as quickly as I want them to.  As a friend of mine always says–I am a WIP   — Work In Progress!  God is not finished with me yet!   I will fumble along through life, trying to be patient but failing at that many times I am sure but God holds the patience in his hands and will never give up on me.

I will just end this with the words of a song we sing in church often:

Some thank the Lord for friends and home
For mercies sure and sweet
But I would praise Him for his grace
In prayer I would repeat

Refrain:
Thank you, Lord, for saving my soul
Thank you, Lord, for making me whole
Thank you, Lord, for giving to me
Thy great salvation so rich and free

Some thank Him for the flow’rs that grow
Some for the stars that shine
My heart is filled with joy and praise
Because I know He’s mine

I trust in Him from day to day
I prove His saving grace
I’ll sing this song of praise to Him
Until I see His face

6 thoughts on “Praise and Thanksgiving

  1. A beautiful post, Elaine. I am keeping your entire family in prayer. May your Thanksgiving be blessed. I hope your time with family is a joy to your heart. Love you!!

  2. Thank you Skye! i appreciate your prayers and your encouragement so much. Praying for you and your family as well, Enjoy a truly happy Thanksgiving filled with God’s blessings, large and small.

  3. Praying everything went well with your daughter’s surgery. What is the name of the song you posted? I assume it is a hymn… beautiful words and perfect for Thanksgiving! Blessings to you!

  4. Thank you for reading and commenting Julie. My daughter’s surgery went very well and she is at home resting. You are correct that the song is a hymn. The name of it is Thank You Lord For Saving My Soul. Blessing to you as well Julie!

Leave a Reply

