Music – A Joyful Noise to My Ears

Psalm 95:1,2

O come, let us sing unto the Lord: let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation. Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving, and make a joyful noise unto him with psalms.

Image

Every day I receive a different Bible verse in my email to begin my day with and today’s verse made me smile.  O come, let us sing unto the Lord: let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation. Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving, and make a joyful noise unto him with psalms.

I began to think of how I love music in my life.  I never learned to play an instrument and sadly, I was not gifted with a good singing voice, though I tried when I was young.  I always joke that my voice is so bad that I was fired from three church choirs!  (not true, but I think it’s funny)  At any rate, despite my lack of ability, I do love to listen to music of many different kinds.   I can be found listening to anything from Classical to some Classic Rock, Country, Blue Grass to Southern Gospel, Hymns and Praise music to 50’s rock or jazz and blues.  I love Celtic music and probably among my favorites is to listen to great tenors such as Luciano Pavarotti, The Canadian Tenors and of course Andrea Bocelli! And my kids are more than willing to tell everyone that Christmas music comes out the day after Thanksgiving and gets played right up until New Year’s at my house!

Music plays many different roles in my life.   When I am stressed, it is soothing and relaxing.  When I am trying to get things done around my home, the right type of music can be very energizing.   It can change my mood in a heartbeat if I choose the right music to listen to.  Overall, it just brings great joy to my life.

I mentioned this verse in my Bible study group this morning and that I was going to write a little post about how music affects my life and brings so much joy to it.  We were talking about emotions and how Satan likes to play on our emotions and pull us away from Christ with his lies.  Our bible study teacher brought up a great suggestion for those nights we have trouble getting to sleep!  She said we should lie in our beds, sing hymns and praises and speak Bible verses.  It upsets Satan so much, he will put us to sleep!  I love this suggestion and I am sure she is right about it.  Think I will give it a try when I can’t sleep!  🙂

Hope you all enjoy the wonderful music we have been blessed with in this world of ours and that it makes your life just that much better.

 

8 thoughts on “Music – A Joyful Noise to My Ears

  1. I agree that music is a wonderful balm to our spirits and uplifter to our souls. Hmmmmm….one thing, though….I would rather you think about singing hymns of praise and speaking scripture so the Holy Spirit will quiet you enough inside that you will drift off. I would not want Satan to have any part in my sleep or any part of my life. Blech. Sorry…just my opinion. Want your sleeps to be sweet.

Leave a Reply

