Yesterdays Hero

I’ve read this story before and it never fails to bring me to tears so I just had to share it. God bless our vets!

oldmainer

I saw this picture recently of a crowd sitting in lawn chairs along a parade route.  In the background, a military formation is marching by carrying our flag.  Sadly, the only one standing in a show of respect is a veteran in a wheelchair.  That bothered me, so I wrote this to give yesterdays hero the recognition he deserves.  To all our veterans, thank you for your service and my freedom.

“Excuse me” the woman calls quietly and somewhat apologetically.  “Can we get in front of you?  We won’t block your view”

Slowly the crowd parts, some reluctantly, others without hesitation.  The woman pushes the wheelchair forward, smiling as she navigated the narrow opening provided for their passage until they reach the curb.

The woman, a daughter perhaps, locks the wheels of the chair and fusses over it’s occupant, adjusting the robe in his lap, assuring his comfort. He shows no resistance to…

View original post 467 more words

Leave a Reply

