Nothing but Respect

This poem really touched my heart and brought me to tears. I have a special place in my heart for our military members for all they sacrifice for our great country, most especially our Wounded Warriors and those who gave the ultimate sacrifice of their lives. I reblogged this back in July but as I said to the author, especially with Veteran’s Day upon us, it bears repeating! A huge thank you to all our veterans and active military.

Chris Martin Writes

I was never in the military. I never served multiple tours in Afghanistan. I’ve never had to spend sleepless nights in a bunker somewhere on the other side of the world listening to continuous gunfire and explosions. I’ve never had to spend months or years away from my family wondering if I would ever see them again. I’ve never spent holidays and birthdays alone, far away from the ones I love the most.

Unfortunately, there are many brave men and women who have, and who are still serving right now. I have the utmost respect for anyone who lives a life of sacrifice. True heroes don’t wear capes, football pads, or memorize scripts for the silver screen. The true heroes in this world wear dog tags, a shield on their uniform, rush into burning buildings to save lives, and stand in front of a classroom full of kids who don’t…

View original post 610 more words

Leave a Reply

