Let us not love in word or tongue, but in deed and in truth

people_helping_people

1 John 3:18 KJV

18 My little children, let us not love in word, neither in tongue; but in deed and in truth.

Yesterday, I reblogged a post from my friend Skye about an outreach ministry she and her family are involved in through their church.  In her post, she talks about how much she and her family enjoy this ministry, how excited they get taking part in it.  She shared with me that she thinks of the 12 children around the world who will be getting gifts this Christmas from her family and prayers from  many, many, others as well.  She said “They are walking around today, going about their lives, and soon, our lives will intersect with God at the middle!!!!! Yay!”

Reading her post and her comments and seeing her excitement and love for sharing God’s word and His love was on my mind all day yesterday and still is.  I began to write this post last evening but was unable to finish due to the late hour; so here I am again to complete it,

I have been thinking about Love; God’s love in particular, and how many ways for us to show His love to others, as Jesus served us and showed His Love to us when he was on earth,  whether it be friends, neighbors and relatives or people halfway around the world.

We all have heard of people near and far who have so little, not even the bare necessities of life many times.  There is so much that could be done to help them and so much most of us would like to be able to do, but we are limited on our funds to do some of the things.  But we can teach them about God’s love and give them the hope of his loving-kindness and build in them the desire to want to do things for themselves.  They say if a man is hungry, you can give him a fish and he will eat for a day.  But so much better is the latter part of that old saying:  Teach a man to fish and he will eat for the rest of his life.

I noticed when I watched one of the videos included in Skye’s story, that one of the little boys who received a “shoebox” gift hoped for and did receive school supplies to help with his education.  It’s one of the items particularly mentioned on the list of suggested gifts.  What a great way to help a child toward his goal of education, to not only receive supplies he needs, but also to be encouraged by the knowledge that he is being prayed for by many around the world, to hear God’s word and most especially to know that he is loved by God.  A few school supplies or small toys, books, etc. may seem so little in comparison to what many of us or our children have, but what a long reaching effect the gifts will have on each of their precious lives.

I have a great deal of respect for those who are called to serve in the mission fields because they do so much to improve the lives of the people they come in contact with.  They show them God’s love, teach them many things to help them be self-sustaining. But we cannot, of course, all be missionaries such as these.  However we can do things from our homes and our churches to help in these efforts to improve the lives of others.  We can pray, we can pack boxes of gifts, we can take part in providing them with Bibles.  We also can very easily volunteer in our own communities to share our varies talents and skills with others, all while sharing God’s love with them.

There is so much more I can think of to say about this subject but I don’t want to get too long-winded!  (who? me?) I am sure everyone has their own ideas of things we can all do to make life a bit brighter for and to encourage our fellow human beings who are in need like Operation Christmas Child which is sponsored by a group called Samaritan’s Purse.  Imagine the great feeling of showing someone that they count in this world; they are not forgotten human beings.  More importantly, imagine how they will feel!

3 thoughts on “Let us not love in word or tongue, but in deed and in truth

  1. Thank you, Elaine, for the mention here. I appreciate it very much, and I hope it will draw others this holiday season to not be so inwardly focused that we are no outwardly good.

    Blessings, sweet friend.

  2. You’re welcome Skye and thanks for reading my post! My wish is like yours–that people will spend more time and thought on being outwardly good to those in need, rather than inwardly focused on what is in it for me? How many material things can I have? As I have been thinking about what you wrote in your post and other things I have been reading lately on other blogs, etc. I have started whirling an idea about in my head regarding gift giving this year with my family and friends with whom I exchange gifts. I am going to be making the suggestion to each of them that instead of spending a lot of money on just things to open on Christmas morning that we take a portion of our Christmas budget and make donations to things that are near and dear to their hearts in honor of each individual person and then just buy little gifts for each other rather than expensive things that half the time we would probably go out and buy for ourselves if we wanted or needed them. In my family there are no little children, so I don’t have to think about what to do for them as some would. Anyway I am going to run this idea past my kids and grandkids and see what they think.

Leave a Reply

