Goals and Inspirations

It's Not Who You Know That Matters, But Who You Are Inside

An inspirational quote I came across a while back that I really like.  Nice reminder to each of us I believe.  So many times we seem to get caught up in worrying about how successful we “should” be and how to get there.  We set a lot of goals and perhaps, at times, they are unrealistic goals personally.  For instance it would be incredibly silly of me to shoot for a goal of running 5 miles when I can rarely walk 1 mile.  (I am great for setting those unrealistic goals!)  And don’t we all just love being around the “name-droppers”!  NOT.  What does it matter who we know, or what we have, how much money we have?

My goal is to change those personality traits in me that are just taking up wasted space in my brain.  Can I do it all at once? No and I am not even going to try.  One step at a time, one trait at a time,   My goals are, as the above quote says, to see how high my faith in God can climb, to see how many hearts I can touch as I live my life.  When the day comes that the Lord calls me home, will anyone remember whether I was wealthy, had many possessions, lived in the biggest, most expensive house, or knew all the so-called “important people” ?  No, of course they won’t.  But will I be remembered for the way I made someone feel, for smiles I gave to someone who needed to see a smile?  Will I be remembered as a loyal friend,  or a loving mother/grandmother, as an encouragement to another person?    My wish is that I leave behind many more good things to remember than bad things.  I believe all of us want to be remembered for what is inside our hearts and inside our minds.

redrose

Leave a Reply

