Birthday Gifts

Image

I love this poem and of course the Bible verses it is based on,

Numbers 6:24-26 (English Standard Version)

24 The Lord bless you and keep you;
25 the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you;
26 the Lord lift up his countenance[a] upon you and give you peace.

Many know it, of course, as the Irish Blessing and being partly of Irish descent,  I like that title for it too.  I’m not sure when or how I first became aware of it but I know it was many years ago.  It has always stuck with me and I love sharing it with others.  What better gift can we give to a close family member or a cherished friend than to wish on them all the blessings of our Father in Heaven on their birthdays?  I have a couple of friends and family members who have birthdays this month and I thought of what I would like to wish them for their respective birthdays.  Those thoughts prompted this post.

What are those blessings?  The list is endless of course but some very special ones come to my mind when I think about all that God blesses us with.

First and foremost, He gives us His grace, his enabling power. With God’s grace we are transformed; it is what causes us to grow and be strong.  He gives it freely, not because of anything we have done to earn it,

His blessings also include what are known as the “fruits of the spirit”  love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.  All are truly wonderful blessings or gifts from the Lord.   I strive constantly, as do most of us, to show all of those attributes to others as I go though my days.  Do I succeed all the time?   No, not at all – far from it – but it is a daily thing to strive for in all of us.  My wish is that I can always portray these characteristics towards you, the special people in my life, to let you know just how much you mean to me; how fortunate I am that you have touched my life.

Love is mentioned as the first fruit of the spirit, followed closely by joy and peace,  Those are the loveliest gifts of all in my mind.   I could go on and on talking about Love.  Can’t we all?  that is probably best left for another blog post!  I recently heard a series of sermons on Love from an evangelist and it took 3 nights to say what the Lord wanted him to say.  No way am I going to try putting Love into a small paragraph!   It is just not possible!

There are so many gifts and fruits God provides for us–we just need to look around and take in all the beauty that surrounds us wherever we live or travel, look at the beautiful and special people who cross our paths every day.  There is no end to them!

For everyone, I wish you these gifts and more and if you are celebrating a birthday in this beautiful month of November, I pray you will enjoy  all of God’s great gifts and hold them close.

Happy Birthday!  Image

2 thoughts on “Birthday Gifts

Leave a Reply

