Happy Birthday In Heaven, Joey

October 9, 1964 I gave birth to my first child, a wonderfully beautiful son named Joey.  I have to smile when I type his name Joey–I was the only one who he would allow to call him that as he got older.  I smile at a lot of things about that boy.  He was a very kind, loving son, very smart, but sadly he never believed that.  Oh how I wish he had believed me and the many other people who reminded him often of his talents and his abilities.

Joey is now my angel in heaven, having died at his own hands 11 years ago.  October 9, 2013 would have been his 49th birthday.  How I wish he were here to celebrate it with his family.  I know there would have been a lot of teasing about his age and reminders that he was almost 50 and all the usual stuff families tease about.  He would have loved it!  He would have had a few things to say about that and I know he would have let his brother and sister know that they should be careful what they say because they would very quickly be 50 themselves.  🙂  I can picture it in my mind clearly!

What gets me through the birthdays and the holidays, is all the memories of times spent with him as he grew up to be a man and until his death, plus the support of the Lord Jesus and, of course, the love of friends and family.   I am very thankful that Joey did accept the Lord as his savior a few years before his death, so I have the blessing of knowing that when it comes my time to be called home by God, i will be reunited with my firstborn child.

Happy Birthday in Heaven Joey!  I love you!


With Love from Mom

15 thoughts on “Happy Birthday In Heaven, Joey

  1. A beautiful tribute, Elaine. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I cannot imagine what you went through, and still walk through. You amaze me quite often as I get to know you better and better.

    In a different way, I have two deposits in heaven. I never got to meet my two babies, but I saw their beautiful heart beats and felt their life within me. One day, I will twirl them around like I never got to do on this side of heaven. My heart grieves for the losses….I can only imagine your loss. I am sending huge hugs and much love your way.

    Looking forward to Friday!!

    • Thank you so much Skye and hugs to you too! I’m so sorry you never got to meet your babies but you will indeed meet them in heaven and how glorious that will be. Hugs to you too dear friend. Me too on Friday.!

  2. I’m so sorry for the loss of your son 11 years ago, and the empty spot in your heart that will always belong to Joey. So thankful that our Great Comforter knows our deepest heartaches and comforts us through His Word like no one on this earth can! May Christ continue to comfort you today as you remember Joey!
    P.S. It’s also a comfort to know that Joey is more precious to God than any beautiful, heavenly angel… after all, Christ died for the human soul, not for the angels! We are so precious to Him! Hugs to you!

  3. Thank you Jennifer! I appreciate your words so much. I, as well, am very thankful for our Great Comforter. He held me up even when I didn’t know it. He is so Faithful! I was looking through the Bible last evening for verses about God’s comfort and found many, of course, but there were a few that really spoke to me: “Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:21-23 and also “The Lord is near to those who are broken-hearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:18

  4. I am enjoying all your posts, Elaine, and this one brought tears to my heart. It is the ultimate when God asks us to give back what is his. Surely you have come forth as gold!

    • Thank you so much for your comment Patricia Ann, and thank you for reading my blog! What a blessing! Yes it is the ultimate for sure to Have God reclaim one of His own. Knowing I will see him again one day in heaven helps me get through it. Hothe pe to be able to spend some time visiting your blog today. (in between packing for my upcoming move). Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

