Be of Good Cheer – Smile!

Image

Before I begin, I must add a disclaimer of sorts.  God does have a sense of humor and friends are often on the same wave length because of it.  I wrote this late last night in my journal,  but didn’t get it typed into the blog.  I awoke this morning and read, as usual, the posts of my friends.  I read my friend Skye’s post first and I started to laugh for two reasons:  The things she wrote were funny some of them, and we had both written on the same subjects, using the same Bible verses from Proverbs as well!  I encourage you to read hers!   http://ohthethingsweshallsee.com/2013/10/04/why-did-the-chicken-only-cross-half-way/    Thank you for the giggles Lord!

I recently read a quote from an unknown source that said “A smile costs nothing but gives much. It takes but a moment, but the memory of it sometimes lasts forever.”

That started me thinking about smiles and cheerfulness and how they affect those with whom we come in contact.  I believe that a cheery, sincere smile can say more than a thousand words could ever express.  All of my life, I have been told that “laughter is the best medicine” and one of my favorite things to tell others about smiles vs frowns is that it takes many more muscles to frown than to smile, so why not be lazy and smile!  I am not sure if that is really true, of course, or just one of those “old wives tales”.

I decided to search in the Bible for what God says about smiles and cheerfulness.  Right away I was directed to Proverbs, of course.  In Proverbs 17:22 it says  “A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.”   Well that certainly proves the old adage of Laughter is the best medicine!

I was also led to Proverbs 15:13, 15:15   13A merry heart maketh a cheerful countenance: but by sorrow of the heart the spirit is broken and “15 All the days of the afflicted are evil: but he that is of a merry heart hath a continual feast.”   Two more good reasons to smile – who wants to have a broken spirit and who doesn’t enjoy a feast?

I decided to continue my search and found several (don’t worry, I won’t add all of them – lol).  I particularly liked what Christ says in John 16:33.  33 These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.   So he is telling us here that being cheerful is a very good thing; it will help us in those trying times.  Again is he saying laughter is the best medicine? I believe he is.

About a year ago, i had some conversations with others regarding what happens when we smile at another person, at a stranger.  Many of us were in agreement that most people would smile back.  I decided to test that hypothesis while traveling on vacation.  Best place to test it?  Airports!  I found that a few ignored me; a few frowned at me as if they were wondering what my ulterior motive might be to smile!  I didn’t think I needed a motive to smile at anyone.  i was very pleasantly surprised to find, however, that my hypothesis was correct.  At least 75% of the people flashed a smile right back and their eyes brightened!  Try it and see what happens!

So what does all of this have to do with anything? It shows us that smiling is a wonderful thing.  By smiling, we may have just made someone’s day a whole lot better!  Who knows? You may be the first person who smiled at them today or perhaps the only smile they will get all day.  I believe you have just may have raised their self-esteem a bit because you just gave them the message that they are worthwhile!  They are worth a smile from a stranger.  That can go a long way.  We will usually never know how far reaching that smile is but that is not important.  We will feel good just because we smiled.

Image

11 thoughts on “Be of Good Cheer – Smile!

  1. Pingback: semaseph

  2. Pingback: Coping Skills. #15. Watching Humour | Rose with Thorns

Leave a Reply

