I have a new song

A few days ago I was reading Psalm 40 and also Psalm 70 (Let all those that seek thee rejoice and be glad in thee: and let such as love thy salvation say continually, Let God be magnified.) which was referenced with Psalm 40.    As I read, I thought about the changes in my life in the past few months as I began depending more and leaning more on God in my life.   Over  the past couple of years I have traveled a very bumpy road of feeling very downhearted, worried about a lot of things, and felt lonely. etc.  I felt like my life was moving in slow motion; time flew by but not my life.   To use an old expression, I just felt like I was “going nowhere in a big hurry!”

I prayed  a few times asking the Lord for help, but then in my silly human condition, I would take back the request; figured I could do it on my own.  NOT!   It doesn’t work that way.

God never gives up on us though.  He is very patient and long-suffering waiting for us to come to him.  He heard my prayers.  He continually put people on my path – people who I was able to relate to and could share with just as they shared with me.  We were (and are) able to be an encouragement to each other.  We shared the good and bad things.  We laughed together and at times, cried together. We celebrated successes and held each other up in the down times.    I had no need to fear things, to feel so alone. God was and is with me with every step I take.

My walk with Him is growing every day as I spend much more time in His word, in prayer, and with Bible studies.  I have started to get more involved with things at my church and I am having fun doing it!

Through this time I have developed a new interest – Blogging!  Yes me, really!  I am still amazed at this!  I never felt I had anything worthwhile to say, was not good enough to write anything of interest to anyone; not wise enough to to really have anything of value to offer.    I’m not yet writing as often as I would like but surprising to me, some of the things I have written have drawn people to respond and/or follow my blog.  This gives me more courage to write and post more often, simple though my words are.  Quite honestly I never thought I would see this happening in my life.  God is full of surprises!!

I noticed at the bottom of the page in my journal where I originally wrote these thoughts a quote that is so fitting.  The author is unknown so I can’t credit it properly but it says “Within each of us, just waiting to blossom, is the wonderful promise of all we can be.”  This is so true!  It  is a wonderful promise indeed! There is so much I am learning and finding out about myself through this process!   I can’t wait to find out what yet awaits me!

Lord I thank you and praise you for pulling me up out of that dark hole and showing me the right path to take to real happiness, for sending me my many “earth angels” to help me on my journey and for allowing me to help them as well at times.   I am so blessed Lord!! 

4 thoughts on “I have a new song

  1. Oh, Elaine, as I wrote the other day, you know the struggle I have with not feeling worthy enough to write or continue on in much of anything. It is a hard struggle, but He is faithful, if we are willing to believe what He reveals.

    I am blessed that you are blogging but even more that you are growing in your faith. Let that be your priority and the rest will fall into place. Recently, I took my eyes off of Him for something worldly. It crashed and burned and left me broken deeply. Keep your eyes on Him. My best advice as you step out.

    Love you……..Skye

  2. Thank you Skye! you are always such an encouragement to me and you, of course, were the person who led me to blogging and getting to know other bloggers like yourself. It has been such a blessing to me as has our friendship. Love you my friend. *HUGS*

  3. Thank you Elaine – this was just what I needed to read tonight – a blessing that I picked this post to read first

    • You are most welcome Michelle! What a blessing to me that my post helped another. Thank you for letting me know that! I love the way God works in putting the right messages in place just as we need them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

