The Seeds We Plant

planting-seeds-faith-22825357

A day or two ago, I was reading a post on another blog–(The Devotion Cafe–  http://desirayl.wordpress.com/2013/08/09/social-networking-sites/ ) entitled Social Networking Sites.  It talked about how we use them.  Are we using them to bring glory to God?  She shared a testimony of something wonderful that occurred on a site that was a real blessing to her and another person.  A seed was planted.  The seed began to grow and flourish.  I encourage you to read that post.  I am sure it will be a blessing to you as it was to me.

The post got me to thinking about the things I write, the things I say, the things I do.  What kind of effect do they have on those who read my posts and those who hear me or see my actions?    Are my words and deeds a blessing to someone or an encouragement to another?   Are my words bringing glory to God?  What kind of a seed am I sowing?

I am always hoping that, though my words are very simple, my thoughts very simple,  someone will be blesseed by them or that a good seed may be planted through the words I write.    I believe that sometimes the simplest of words or ideas may just be the seed that begins to grow and brings a person closer to the Lord.   In Matthew 17:20  it says   If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.    I get a lot of encouragement from His words. With God all things ARE possible.

None of us may ever know what grows from the seeds we plant but that should not discourage us from continuing to plant them.     There is a quote that I read recently that simply says   With every deed you are sowing a seed, though the harvest you may not see.   Ella Wheeler Wilcox.

As Henry David Thoreau said,  The smallest seed of faith is better than the largest fruit of happiness.

Lord I pray that my words and deeds will always be Christ-honoring and always be a blessing to others.  I pray for your guidance as I write or speak  and that seeds may be planted and bring others closer to you Lord, just as I was brought to a closer relationship with you because of the words that I have heard and read from others.   Amen.  

the_seed_you_plant_poster-r98416e33d2c8440a8ef9995a06382564_wvw_8byvr_512

11 thoughts on “The Seeds We Plant

  1. It is so true, Elaine. Our lives may be the only Bible that someone experiences. Each day, we need to be focusing on the Lord and His ways so that we may present Him in such a way that all we meet see Jesus. By our gentle ways, a heart may be pricked. We may not be the one to bring that person to the saving knowledge of the Lord, but a seed is planted.

    Lovely writing. Looking forward to checking out the link. Thank you, Dear Friend. 🙂

      • I know it is from the Lord–but he also gives us the free will to refuse to listen to Him. (though we should not do that) I’m so glad you are not a refuser 🙂

  2. Excellent Elaine and I thank God that my post sparked something in you to cause you to reflect about what you say and do on your site. GOD always know just what we need and when we need it. And of course He always know who to send our way. AMEN.,.Thanks for sharing my post on your site.

  3. Thank you Desiray! You are right. God always does seem to know doesn’t he? He has sent me many “earth angels” with messages from Him and I treasure each and every one.

  4. well put, elaine. i’ve been musing over socnet type of sites lately also. my working theory is to draw an analogy with the early People Of The Way and FB/Twit/etc. (as odd as that sounds)

    • Good morning Ajay and thank you so much! I am indeed honored. Thank your for visiting my blog and for all the “likes” on my posts! I appreciate that very much! I need to take some time to catch up on a few awards so it may take a while for me to get to this but I will. Thank you again and have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

