Courage and Strength

ImagePsalm 31:24 – “Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart, all ye that hope in the Lord.” –

My pastor’s wife added this to the end of an email she sent out to all the members of church requesting prayer for many different people. She does this as a regular habit .   This verse she sent today spoke to my heart when I read it.

My life verse that I have adopted is Phil 4:13 – I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.  KJV    Keeping this verse in my heart has gotten me through many trials and helped me meet some goals I have set for myself and it works in my life constantly.  The Lord is always setting people on the path I travel -his angels on earth- to help me persevere and always being with me, loving me, guiding me.

The verse from the Psalms is so similar to my life verse and speaks not only of strength but of courage-the courage to keep going despite the obstacles placed before us, sometimes by chance, sometimes by others, more often by ourselves when we tell ourselves that our trials are insurmountable.  And yes, some of them we have no control over.   They are huge and do seem insurmountable such as the death of a loved one, especially a spouse or a child; a very serious illness that threatens our lives or the lives of those we love.  I do not believe the obstacles can possibly be any harder to overcome than these.  It is so easy to be despondent, impatient and feel like giving up.  But we have hope.  Believing in God gives us hope if we are strong (courageous) and put our faith in him. He will strengthen us and bring us to a  place of restoration and healing.

Leave a Reply

