Mother’s Day Reflections

redroseLove is patient; love is kind. Love is not jealous; is not proud; is not conceited; does not act foolishly; is not selfish; is not easily provoked to anger; keeps no record of wrongs; takes no pleasure in unrighteousness, but rejoices in the truth; love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, and endures all things. ~I Corinthians 13:4-7

This is my favorite verse in the Bible about Love. It is used in so many different contexts in our lives, one of the very important ones describing the unending, unconditional love mothers have for their children.

As a Mom and Grandmother celebrating this lovely day in honor of us, I take time to think about the role my Mom and my Grandmother played in my life as I grew up and through much of my adult life before the Lord took them home. They both taught me about love—the unconditonal love for my children and my grandchildren. They taught me to have patience with the children and grandchildren God blessed me with; to teach them to be the best they can be –not comparing them with each other, but as I told my children  “Be the best YOU that you can be, not the best copy of anyone else.  YOU are special”.  My Mom and Grandmother taught me how to be kind to others; to always look for the good in every person we meet along our journey through life.    So many things they taught me that I try to carry with me through my life and I hope I have done a good job of passing their legacy on to my children and to my grandchildren; that part of who they are today as all of them are now grown, perhaps is in some small way, is from my love for them and the love passed down from their grandmother and great-grandmother.

To all of us who no longer have our Moms with us to celebrate this special day with, we still honor them, they are still very much alive in our hearts and they are watching over us still from heaven.  Their legacy of love lives on through each of us as we pass it on to the next generation,

Happy Mother’s Day to all of the Moms here with us and Happy Mothers Day to our Moms who are with the Lord now.  You are never forgotten.

Leave a Reply

