Requesting your prayers

Image

My blogging friends and family,  I ask today for prayer for a dear family in my church, as well as our church family.  Very unexpectedly, one of the men in our church, Paul Kuck, went home to be with the Lord after a severe work related accident.  Paul leaves behind his wife Sherri and 3 beautiful young daughters.  Paul was very active in our church, in several capacities.  He was a wonderful man who dearly loved the Lord and loved his family. He was a good friend to many and was loved very much by all. Though we are rejoicing in the knowledge that Paul is with the Lord, our hearts are breaking for his dear sweet family.  He will be very much missed.  A friend and I both had an identical thought yesterday of a memory of Paul playing his guitar and singing with Sherri and the girls at church and what a blessing it always was.   That is just one of many memories he leaves with us.

It is so hard to know just what to say at a time like this.  We question why these things happen, all the while knowing that God truly has a reason for it that we may never know.  His plan for all of us and His timing is always perfect. Someday, when we are called home to be with the Lord ourselves, perhaps we will learn the answers.  In the meantime, we just need to put our trust in the Lord.  “The Lord is near the broken hearted” (Psalm.34:18).

As I thought about the words to share today, I prayed for the Lord’s guidance.  Almost immediately he sent an answer to that prayer!  Two answers actually!  The first was the following post from a dear young friend at church who posted these words and accompanied them with the words to a beautiful hymn!  She has allowed me to share her post in this blog.  (Thank you Missy!)

“Beautiful Hymn, such words that speak right to the soul in the midst of a difficult tragedy. God is more than good, always.”

This hymn is based on Psalm 46:10 Be still and know that I am God which leads me to the second answer to the same prayer. That verse has been on my mind for several weeks but I was not sure why.   I have a prayer card on my desk with the verse on it!  I hadn’t really looked at it today until I prayed and saw the hymn, but then my eyes were drawn right to it!  Love the way the Lord works in our lives! 
 
Please keep this family in your prayers, dear friends, as they grieve over their loss of their husband and father.  Your prayers are appreciated! 
 

“The God of all comfort” comforts us in all our troubles “so that we can comfort others in any trouble” (2 Corinthians 1:3-4).

35 thoughts on “Requesting your prayers

  1. Oh, Dear Elaine, I am so sorry for the loss of your friend. I will be in prayer for his wife and three children as well as for your whole church family. We went through something similar a few years back (a motorcycle accident), it was so very difficult, but there was comfort in knowing where our friend went.

    Again, you will all be in my thoughts and prayers. Much love sent your way.

  2. So very sorry to hear of the loss of your friend, please know that you, your friends, and church family are in my prayers.

  3. I have been praying much for all of you since yesterday. My heart is heavy for Sherry, the girls and all of you who have loved Paul as your brother in Christ and friend. Thank you for posting the song – my heart sang along as I read the words. May God be glorified and your church family comforted in this devastating loss. Hugs to you!

  4. I am so very sorry to hear about this. God’s timing is so mysterious sometimes.
    Praying for his family, you and the church family.
    God’s Blessings.
    Robbie

  5. What a painful moment Elaine! I am sorry for the loss. One thing I want to remind you is that no matter how we care and love those around us, but the Lord love them most and the other part of the joy is that we know where he is going – to the Father’s house. Jesus Said, in My Father’s house, there are many mansions and if it was not so, I would have tell you. His family, you and the body of Christ that he left behind are in my prayer. Once again, accept my sympathy!

  6. Dearest Lord…many things happen which we do not understand. Some of those hit so very close to home. But we take comfort in knowing that all things happen for the good for those who love You!

    Lord, be with this family in their immediate peril. Have those who know their needs be willing to help them. Please look over this family in their desperate time of grief and comfort them all.

    For this is my prayer on behalf of these, Your children…In Christ Jesus name…Amen!

      • All the best to the Kuck family! God will see them through. There has to be something good to come forth from this grief.

        Take care, Elaine…
        Steve

      • Thank you Steve. I will be sharing everyone’s comments with the family and I am sure they will be blessed by the outpouring of condolences.

      • Love for others is so much a natural “gift” we have to give in the name of our gracious Lord!

        May they be uplifted by the comments and may you enjoy a wonderful weekend, Elaine!

        Steve

  7. I just came over from Sheri’s blog. So sad to read about the loss of your friend and church member. About six months ago we lost a a member of our community to tragic circumstances. It’s always hardest on the ones left behind. My prayers are with the family at this time.

Leave a comment